The Year of Blake Lively

  

You wouldn’t believe how many people have told me I look like Blake Lively. Okay, I’m exaggerating. I’ve been told less than five times and these individuals may or may not have been intoxicated. Regardless of these minor details, Blake Lively has gone from starring in The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants 2 (since the first one was so good?) to a fashion icon and permanent tabloid fixture.  Let’s walk down memory lane and reminisce on her past year, shall we?

After breaking up with her Gossip Girl co-star Penn Badgley late last year, Blake has been linked to Ryan Gosling, Leonardo Dicaprio and Ryan Reynolds. Did anyone predict the girl from Accepted ever dating Leonardo Dicaprio? How you go from dating Lonely Boy to Jack Dawson from Titanic is beyond me. Granted Penn is cute and Leo is FAR from his prime, but as far as star power and box-office appeal, there is absolutely no comparison. Penn who? From holding hands in Monte Carlo to a romantic bike ride in New York City, Blake kind of seemed to be living a page out of my diary this Summer. And then in a bizarre twist of events, Blake Lively dumps Leonardo Dicaprio for Ryan Reynolds. Two questions: When did you become a baller and can you give me Leo’s digits?

I’ve attached photos to put this in perspective for you. It still doesn’t make sense.

            

After starring in Gossip Girl since 2007, Blake Lively went from being a relatively unknown actress to topping Vogue’s annual Best Dressed list. When she’s not attending Paris Fashion Week with Vogue’s Editor-in-Chief Anna Wintour, Blake is shooting lucrative ad campaigns for Chanel. Are you telling me that if I’m dressed by world renowned stylists on a mediocre show that I too can become best friends with two of the most influential people in fashion? Did I mention Christian Louboutin also created a shoe specifically for her? I’d be surprised if you weren’t already aware of this information, as Blake likes to humblebrag here and there about her oh so fabulous life. Or sometimes an entire interview, as shown from her appearance on Regis and Kelly last year:

 

Since practically every actress in Hollywood has a stylist, people were baffled when Blake claimed her impeccable fashion sense was her own creation. In the words of Miss Lively herself, “I think I became my own stylist by not knowing any better”. I don’t doubt Blake has great taste, but to claim you have absolutely no help from a stylist is not plausible in this business. However, I’m starting to believe this statement more after stumbling across this monstrosity. Here is Blake pictured at Gossip Girl’s 100th Episode party last week:

Marchesa is always a hit or miss for me (usually a miss). This dress is definitely a miss and exemplifies why I rarely like their designs. To put this in perspective, every single designer wants Blake Lively to wear their gowns on the red carpet. And THIS is the dress you choose? You’ve got to be kidding me. I usually love how Blake dresses, but this is inexcusable. I’m pretty sure I saw a rug similar to this in my grandparent’s basement.

I know it may not seem evident after reading this article, but I’m actually a big fan of Blake Lively. Unlike the loser that is Lindsay Lohan, Blake has a good head on her shoulders and seems destined to have a long, successful career. I just may be a little jealous of her seemingly amazing life.

XOXO, Gossip Girl

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

