Would you like my autograph?

More often than not, a parent’s undying love for their child looks past their actual talents and abilities. Case in point, my dad recently suggested that I fly to Los Angeles to audition for a Disney show. You read correctly… DISNEY. My bad, I forgot Miley Cyrus auditioned for Hannah Montana in her twenties. Is my dad serious right now? I would be like Andrea from the original Beverly Hills, 90210.

16... going on 32.

Despite my dad’s delusional aspirations for me, I’ve never had an interest in acting. I mean, I can barely tell a story without laughing. However, I was presented a once in a lifetime opportunity I couldn’t refuse! My friend Nikki, whose IMDB credits include being the body double of Michelle Williams, asked me if I wanted to be an extra in a film with Channing Tatum and Rachel McAdams. Getting paid to be in the same proximity as Regina George? Where do I sign up?

Anyway, last September we were shooting at night for a concert scene in the movie. At the risk of sounding ignorant, I didn’t realize how much time goes into a two minute scene. Like, hours upon hours. You could probably skim the script five minutes before the scene and have it memorized by the last take. I’m pretty sure Channing Tatum does this. We were told to bring a bag of clothes for the stylists to approve of. Of course none of my form-fitting blazers or cute blouses are chosen. No, I’m told to wear the “bright”, baggy yellow sweater I was wearing to keep warm (#firstworldproblems). So look for the frumpy chick in the yellow hoodie! Also, my inside sources tell me the camera adds ten pounds. I’m sure this won’t help my single status… at all.

For some odd reason, I’m fascinated with how celebrities are in real life. Considering the majority of what they say is extremely rehearsed and censored, it’s hard to know what they’re actually like without the camera’s rolling. That being said, I was relieved Rachel McAdams was just as lovely in person as she is in interviews. She also has the most flawless, porcelain complexion. I say this in the least creepiest way, of course! As for Channing Tatum, I wasn’t sure what to expect looks wise. He’s either in Step Up shape or slightly doughy. See what I mean?

Regardless of the past, he was crazy hot when we saw him! Like, the type of the guy you would fumble your words if he asked you a question. Or is that just me? In fact, after witnessing his acting chops (or lack thereof) in the flesh, I’m positive he wouldn’t be a famous actor without his Southern good looks!

I hope the movie does well because I love, love Rachel McAdams! Who didn’t love her in The Notebook and Wedding Crashers? In case you haven’t already seen it, here is the trailer for The Vow– in theaters February 10th!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Would you like my autograph?

  1. nikki c says:

    coldest night of my life!!! we have to go opening night so we can watch our terrible fake dancing! hahaha

Leave a comment